• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

OA - Grading Services or Third Party Certifications?

19 posts in this topic

Since I am new to OA and did not see any references to these questions can anyone tell me if you can have CGC grade your OA? I know they grade single comic pages and usually put an NG but at least it would encapsulate it and protect it. Are there any companies that can cetify the artwork? I know it is all unique one of a kind items but would love a third party certification to go along with it.

Thanks for all your help!

If CGC start grading OA it may be time to leave the hobby.

:facepalm:

Imagine the enormity of the slabs!!!!

Since I am new to OA and did not see any references to these questions can anyone tell me if you can have CGC grade your OA? I know they grade single comic pages and usually put an NG but at least it would encapsulate it and protect it. Are there any companies that can cetify the artwork? I know it is all unique one of a kind items but would love a third party certification to go along with it.

No offense, but I hope you are the only one who thinks like that, because that is a horrible horrible idea. Third party certification and encapsulation of OA is a terrible idea. How about my large art DPS, they will have a single slab that will encapsulate my art that is 26" x 19"?

Malvin

I am guessing the anwser to your questions is no. :baiting:

Encapsulation is getting out of control, since many collector's don't want their slabs cracked, chipped or scratched, maybe CGC should create an encapsulation and grading system also for the slab itself, and slab a slabbed comic to protect the comic and the slab it's in...