• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Restoration of Marvel Mystery Comics #57

15 posts in this topic

I'm considering sending this book out for restoration. I've been told that getting it pressed will eliminate the spine roll and make the book lay flat and tight. I'm curious if anyone on the board has had any experience with pressing and what people think overall.

marvelmystery.jpg

First of all..

Welcome to the CGC board.. hi.gif

Might I ask what your intentions would be if you do indeed press the book?

While I am no restoration expert.. and cannot correctly answer your pressing question..

I will ask...

Do you intend to keep the book.. unslabbed.. to view for yourself?

If yes.. then I would not bother with pressing it , considering the other flaws to the book, just enjoy it as a reader..

But if your goal is to restore the book totally.. then pressing is only one of the things you will be faced with.

As I said.. I am no expert on GA, or restoration.. others here can offer better advice.

Either way.. nice comic.. thumbsup2.gifand good luck.

893crossfingers-thumb.gif

Z

A very nice book, certainly a worthwhile restoration candidate. thumbsup2.gif However, you may just want to get it slabbed in it's current condition. 893scratchchin-thumb.gif It depends on what you wish to achieve. juggle.gif

WELCOME TO THE BOARDS!

Pressing will only correct a few of the issues present on this book. Obviously, it all depends on your end game and of course, your wallet.

If you can elaborate on what you want, I'm sure some of the fine people here on this board can direct you further on your quest.

Good luck!