• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

stupid newb question

13 posts in this topic

I am new to collecting Art. here is a question.

If I find a page out of a comic book that I really want the original Art on, is there some sort of database? Or how the hell do you track it down?

Where do you even start to see if certain pages original art is available, sold or who has it?

there is no easy answer for that. If it is a new comic, then find the rep that sells the artist's art (which could be the artist him/her self). If it's an older comic, that's tougher, comicartfans might be a good place

Malvin

There are some places to start you search:

• Heritage Auctions esp. their Archive
  • Comic Art Fans - Market Data can give you pricing information and the search facility can help you find people who have that artists work. You can then contact them through the CAF.
  • There are two lists of dealers that I'm aware of:

[*]Check Facebook for your specific artist

[*]Check LinkedIn for your specific artist (yep, some are there and not FB)

[*]Join the comicart-l Yahoo mail group and ask there (there is overlap between here and there, but ...)

[*]Check Convention Scene to see if there are cons near you at which your artist may appear

[*]Send a snail mail letter to the artist c/o their publisher. Hand written letters have clout.

[*]Use the CGC OA Marketplace to post WTB requests.

[*]Post general OA questions on the main CGC OA board.

Once you find it, you'll want to know what a reasonable price is. Here are some thoughts on that topic.

What did I miss?

What did I miss?

State the title/artist on these boards and 99 times out of 100 someone can point you in the right direction. :wishluck: