• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Impact on resale: cracked CGC case?

40 posts in this topic

This is regarding a CGC graded comic that has a crack in the case.

I am a newbie. I found an answer via the forum's search. Cracked cases are bad. My questions pertain to how bad and expectations with shipment.

(1) A small crack will likely not impact a comic book's condition. But how much does a crack impact the value and one's ability to resell a comic?

(2) if a comic's CGC case is advertised as in perfect condition but is cracked when it arrives. Who is responsible? Is that the risk you take in shipment? Or in cases where an Ebay seller refuses to pay for return shipping and refuses to split the cost to recase, is nuetral or negative feedback warranted?

In my cracked case, here is a screenshot:

http://www.imgur.com/uk39R4r.jpeg

Thanks for the help! And if I am informed that this is in the wrong section, I apologize and will subsequently delete my post.

That crack is not a huge issue, but I'd still be mad.

99.9% of cracked cases are because of improper packing. Whenever I get a cracked case I let the seller know that a "reholder" fee is going to be around $15, plus at least $30 for round trip shipping to cgc. Usually a seller will happily pay the extra $45 to not deal with any drama.