• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

removing a tear seal

13 posts in this topic

Hola.

I recently purchased a low grade copy of Action Comics #252. Maybe a 2.5. Before I bought it, I looked over it to see if there was any resto. Now, I'm not a resto expert, but I didn't find anything.

Except! There is what appears to be a single small tear seal on the bottom of the front cover. I was actually kind of stoked to find this as it's the first time I've managed to actually detect resto on a book in the wild. So, thanks for all the help from this forum to get me to this point.

But anyway, my question is: How difficult or expensive is it to remove something like this? At some point I may want to have this CGC'd and if I do, I want a blue label. Plus, there's no real need for a tear seal if it's inside a case anyway.

The sealing isn't really visible from the outside, it's only noticeable from the inside, mainly because the tear doesn't open like you would expect it to.

Any info you can give would be great. Here's a photo of the comic and the tear seal, which I have deftly circled using my amazing photoshop skills:

SAM_0892-1.jpg

Can you show us the tear seal inside the front cover?

Sure.

One more thing....does it have the color touch on the tear?

Doesn't appear to, no.

I'm not really familiar with how tear seals are supposed to look, but it's odd to me that there's really nothing visible on the inside either. The tear looks like it should open like any other tear, but it totally doesn't. From the front, you can see that the tear almost looks darker - like a shadow in the tear - and I am wondering if that is some kind of spray or adhesive used to close the seal?

Here's the outside and inside of the tear: