• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

CGC Reholder for 1999 Case

17 posts in this topic

Hello,

I am new to the boards and the comic collecting hobby, so I am looking for advice from those who have much greater knowledge than I do.

I own this copy of Avengers #4 CGC 4.0, and according to the CGC bar code it was graded in 1999. I'm concerned about the way the book moves inside the well and am considering sending it in to get reholdered. I do like that the old case adds a bit of character to the book, but I don't want the book inside to get damaged(I'm no expert in even being able to tell if it hasn't already been damaged in the case over the past 14 years). My question is if a reholder is worth doing, or is the old case fine?

Avengers4401Front.jpg

I apologize for the lousy iPhone picture, my scanner isn't large enough for comic books. Since it is impossible to tell from the picture, the code is 0010001004.

Any advice or suggestions would be greatly appreciated, thanks!

Depending on what you are looking to do with it, if you like the old label and this is your keeper, keep it. If you are looking to sell it or possibly think it could get a higher grade, crack that bad boy out and press it. Either way you still have a keep option. I personally like the old CgC labels

My advice is to leave it alone. Old label books are genuinely sought after for their tight grading and upgrade potential. As a bonus you have one of the earliest books ever graded by CGC. Don't lose the legacy.

Doesn't a reholder keep the existing certification number? It would still be one of the earliest graded books, just in a new holder.