• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Restoration Recommendations

16 posts in this topic

I am still new to the global comic scene and have a book that I want to get restored, who would I want to talk to? How would I go about doing that? Do different people specialize in certain things?

Really any recommendations are useful to me at this point. The book has severe staple rust and is a little water damaged. It is also from the 1930's, if that is a factor for any recommendations.

Thanks a bunch in advance, everyone here has been sublimely helpful to me so far :)

Don't get it restored is my advice

I guess I had never thought about that option. I'm not looking to ever sell the book in question, is restoration frowned upon by the community?

My only suggestion would be that IF you get it restored, get it slabbed, so that way if anything ever happens to you, and your family goes to sell it, the buyer knows what they're getting. I own a few restored higher end books, and plan on getting them slabbed just for that purpose.

My only suggestion would be that IF you get it restored, get it slabbed, so that way if anything ever happens to you, and your family goes to sell it, the buyer knows what they're getting. I own a few restored higher end books, and plan on getting them slabbed just for that purpose.

That's true, I guess I'll have to do that if I get it restored, thanks :)

That cover is funny in 2014!!!

I'm usually against restoration but for something as novel as this I say go for it.

Therestorationlab.com is a good start. Good luck.

What is the book, and do you have any scans of it?

Star Comics no.7 Nov. 1937

002_zpsc1640915.jpg

Neat book!