• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

What are the pros/cons of getting a modern slabbed?

39 posts in this topic

I'm still relatively new to collecting comics. I mostly collect moderns (mostly to read) so I'm curious what others see as the pros and cons of slabbing modern books or buying HG slabbed moderns. I've been wanting to buy some issues that mean a lot to me, but I'm also thinking that might be throwing away money. So I'd like to hear all the arguments for and against so I can have a game plan in place.

I'm only slightly interested in slabbing moderns, and its strictly for ASMs in high number because I'm a fan. But, that said, I do feel a bit that its a waste of cash. Lots of these books will be worth no more than cover and slabbing doesn't really change that. Many of the slabbed moderns go for $19.99ish or so. For that I recently bought a ASM 179 in 9.2 W. For the slabbing price I grabbed a book that goes for near $20 unslabbed. I'd rather spend my $20 on those sorts of books.

I can only think of three reasons to slab a modern: 1) to sell it 2) for the Signature Series and 3) to participate in the registry.

I have several moderns that I am partial to that I have not slabbed. I think they may have a shot at 9.9 or, dare I say it, 10. I have not submitted them because I have no intentions of selling them. I am sorely tempted to do it just to see if I can get the aforementioned 9.9 or 10 slab into my collection. The problem is I would be collecting the label and not the comic. That is a trap I want to avoid!