• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Has anyone had trouble submitting to Heritage Auctions

23 posts in this topic

Hi guys and gals!

I'm new to the Society, this is my first post. I'm a loooong time collector who has rarely sold anything. (a few years ago a small # of comics on e-bay, that's all)

I have a huge and (in my opinion) great collection of comics and art. Mostly silver age. I called Heritage and gave them a list of comics and art I'd like to auction off. The stuff was really high grade silver age comics... not of the Amazing Fantasy #15 of FF #1 caliber... but the Marvel Tales #1 and Iron Man #1, Cap #100, Avengers #4 type, you get the picture. (all in all 10 of these types all in high grade)

I told them I wanted to "test the waters" with these. If it all worked out I would over time develope a relationship with them and send the the "heavy hitters" in the future.

The rep I talked to seemed offended by the "test the waters" remark. Told me they're interested in only the heavy hitters ($10,000 worth of stuff) at a time.

Told me to call back when I'm ready.

What say you community? Is this standard practice? Am I full of hooey? Should I sell myself without them?

Please let me know about your experiences.

Thank you all and stay well.

LSW

Yup, that sounds about right. I contacted them about selling an early X-Men page last year and got pretty well turned off by their response. They'd only accept the page if I agreed to a 20% buy back fee if it didn't sell at the min price I wanted. Or they'd be nice enough to put it up if I would agree to a very low reserve so they could be sure to make their $$ off the listing.