• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

How to learn grading

14 posts in this topic

I'm new to comic collecting. What's a good way to get started learning how to grade comics?

I'd like to be able to grade accurately so I don't accidentally mislead someone on a trade/sale.

Practice and compare your grades with others who have experience and read over grading notes about what's expected at a certain grade. Also there is the PGM thread (please grade my book) where you can post a book with a grade in mind but get everyone elses opinion. That thread is an awesome help and helped me a lot.

Good luck with it

Both great suggestions! I'd also recommend participating in the grading contests here on the boards. There is a big one starting this week. There are plenty of prizes and there is no cost to enter so what do you have to lose? Take a stab at it, kid.

http://boards.collectors-society.com/ubbthreads.php?ubb=showflat&Number=8606250#Post8606250

... there is the PGM thread (please grade my book) where you can post a book with a grade in mind but get everyone elses opinion. That thread is an awesome help and helped me a lot.

Buy and read the Overstreet Grading Guide...a new edition just came out, and is available at all the standard online bookseller-type sources...

0000979_the_overstreet_guide_to_grading_comics_300.jpeg

... all I might add is to buy and crack :eek: CGC books to see how CGC grades compares to Overstreet.

I might add one more thing, consistency in grading books varies among CGC and dealers.