• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Question about 9.8 Moderns

20 posts in this topic

I've only sent off a few modern books so I don't have much experience on the matter. I have read the Overstreet guide to grading comics, but I'm still new to the grading process. In your opinions, what is the most a book can get away with and still be a considered a 9.8 by CGC in Modern? Seems they have been really harsh on Moderns as of late. Is it something that you guys can easily tell or is it just a 50/50 shot? besides time and experience is there any thing you guys suggest to help me in grading comics? Maybe a Black Light?

Thanks

If you can see anything at all, it is not a 9.8. If you can't find any issues, then it may be a 9.8. The grading company is better than we are at finding flaws, so always assume you are missing some. WTTB!

If you can see anything at all, it is not a 9.8. If you can't find any issues, then it may be a 9.8. The grading company is better than we are at finding flaws, so always assume you are missing some. WTTB!

they're also better at missing flaws.

Here's something I did - if you have an experienced and trustworthy LCS or collector who is very familiar with subbing CGC books, bring a dozen or so of your best raw modern books (especially multiple copies of the same book) and ask them to go through them to show you what miniscule defects look like that could keep a book out of 9.8Land. (but don't do this on a Wednesday). :cool:

Also, look at many slabbed books closely especially 9.8 vs 9.6 vs 9.4 to start seeing if you can pick out the defects. If you can't get access to many of them in-hand, go online and look for hi-res pics of HG books.