• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Questions about Golden Age Rarity and Pricing

14 posts in this topic

Good Evening,

I am new to Golden Age collecting. I recently picked up a pair of books. Wonder Woman 6 & 7 from an original owner. Looking at the census on these books I only see 41 books graded for 6 and 31 graded for 7. Are these books that rare? In 20 years of grading that is all the copies people have submitted. I am use to the numbers of books being graded in the 1000s from silver to modern.

With DC movies releasing, will there be an upswing in pricing on Golden Age books. I know some Silver, Bronze, and Copper have doubled and tripled with big screen showings? Is Golden age the rock of comics and doesn't get the effects of these waves in pricing?

I appreciate all the insight this community has to offer. Looking forward to moving deeper into the awesomeness that is Golden Age collecting!

Here are the books as it is fun to share!

Nice WW books. The CGC census has been in place for 15+ years and not 20. It's not perfect but certainly can have some degree of accuracy with GA. I generally like to double the amount of CGC graded copies for a particular book to get an estimated number of raw books out there. With some books that I have tracked the past twenty years it seems roughly accurate. We will never know because there are plenty of old time collectors that refuse to slab their books until they are ready to sell. That said, I don't keep up with WW books but I would say they are not incredibly difficult to locate. Perhaps scarce in the open market because collectors are actively pursuing them but not scarce in general. I can think of a handful of books that are much tougher than those WWs.