• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Submitting comics for the first time -- questions -- help much appreciated!

30 posts in this topic

Hey everyone,

First of all, apologies if (for whatever reason) a post like this is not allowed. I don't think this thread violates any sort of protocol, but I am a noob here. I'm about to submit comics to CGC for the first time. I've been looking through this board as well as the official CGC website for quite a while now and there are some questions that still remain unanswered in my mind.

If anyone can answer any of my questions, or if anything jumps out at anyone as being obviously the wrong way to go about doing something, then any help or guidance would be greatly appreciated. Here's an overview of what I'm doing:

I have somewhere between 30 and 50 comics that I'd like to have graded. Whatever exact comics I choose, I believe they will all be Modern Age comics, with the exception of Daredevil #8 (from the '60s). My next oldest comics would be Detective Comics #474, 475 and 476, but they're from 1977 and I believe that the cut-off for Modern goes back to 1975.

The most valuable comics I'll be submitting are my two copies of Batman Adventures #12 (one NM- or VF+, and one NM+ (possibly a 9.8)) and my copy of Preacher #1 (NM or NM-, probably). I'm pretty confident that the ONLY comics valued at over $200 will be the two BA 12s, which I guess is important because it seems that any comic valued at over $200 costs a different fee and goes into a different classification(?).

And here my questions begin.