• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

How much new comic art is digital ?!?

43 posts in this topic

I was picking up a recent art purchase. I made a comment about how much new art there could be in the market. The response made me think about how much art could be digital (i.e. could not be sold in the market as "original art").

If I was an artist drawing a Top 10 book now, would I work digitally and forgo the chance of selling "original art" ??

I'm thinking in terms of line art (i.e. "pencils" and/or "inks") however you'd like to define it, that is NOT ON PAPER. I understand some artists may create breakdowns/layouts on paper (or digitally) and finish the art on paper (or digitally).

So if someone (e.g. the inker) wraps up the line work on paper (blue lines or pencils), that counts as "not digital". Otherwise, it's digital. Exclude colorists work (on paper) and painted art (on paper/canvas).

So how much new art is digital ?

I'm pretty new to all of this, but most of the art from the modern books that I've sought out, you can't really find much. When you can find it, it seems that almost all of it is inked blue line, which many more experienced collectors I've spoken to don't really even seem to consider OA.

Edit: Realized I should rephrase - there is a lot of modern art available, but for me personally, I often have trouble finding stuff from specific series, and some I can't find at all.... East of West for instance. There's a few covers floating around, but that's it as far as I know.

East of West for instance. There's a few covers floating around, but that's it as far as I know.