• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

ASM #7,issue date 11/63 question

14 posts in this topic

I was wondering about this book's low population count on the census. There have only been 2 copies graded apparently.That's not a whole lot.Anyone else have a copy? I'm no expert in these matters but what is the differenece between the 11/63 and 12/63 aside from one being a UK issue? I found this book with an Avengers #2. Both have traces of a subscription crease and were on the shelf at the same time so I assume they must have travelled together.I'm curious why I found one in Canada. tongue.gif

Pence copies simply aren't as common???

That's right. I think that Andy Coleman said once that it was estimated that pence copies amounted to about 2-3% of the total print run. They were printed at the same time, at the same printing plant, on the same presses, using the same plates (with just the price block swapped out) as the regular cents versions. They were then shipped to the UK for distribution and sale.

That's why it is so hard to find pence variants of the early Marvels in high grade. There just aren't that many of them out there.

That's right. I think that Andy Coleman said once that it was estimated that pence copies amounted to about 2-3% of the total print run. They were printed at the same time, at the same printing plant, on the same presses, using the same plates (with just the price block swapped out) as the regular cents versions. They were then shipped to the UK for distribution and sale.

That's why it is so hard to find pence variants of the early Marvels in high grade. There just aren't that many of them out there.