• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Questions About Comic Book Pressing

9 posts in this topic

Hi there,

So I’m new to comic pressing and I’m sitting here wondering is there exceptions to NOT get ur comics pressed or is it almost mandatory to press your comics if your going to get them graded?

like if the book is straight off the press, should I get it pressed in my submission? 

im not sure about all u guys but I love the curves in these modern books. Like how there is that gap in the middle like I took 10 pieces of paper and folded them together. Does that hurt the grade, should I get the book pressed if that’s the only noticeable “defect” ?

is pressing the only way to get a 9.8 and higher??

thanks and let me know. 

I'll see if I can answer your questions in some kind of reasonable order...

1) Some people press everything. Some people don't like to press books unless there's a real need for it. I'm in the second group.

2) If a book is straight off the press, it seems a bit redundant to have it pressed. But it's your book and your money...

3) The gap you're referring to isn't considered a defect, and if a book is slabbed you'll likely never even notice it.

4) Amazingly, some books can still get 9.9's or 10.0's without being pressed (but I'm guessing it's pretty unusual...) 

I hope this helps, and welcome to the boards!   

14 minutes ago, The Lions Den said:

16 minutes ago, The Lions Den said:

I'll see if I can answer your questions in some kind of reasonable order...

1) Some people press everything. Some people don't like to press books unless there's a real need for it. I'm in the second group.

2) If a book is straight off the press, it seems a bit redundant to have it pressed. But it's your book and your money...