• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Understanding grading

7 posts in this topic

Hi all I’m trying to understand grading. I looked at the different options. I have both comics and cards I’d like to have graded. What does the “max value” mean ? For example I have The walking dead #1 I’d like to get graded and cased (? Right Term? ) not sure what option I would choose. 

I'm no pro at this but I believe when you are asking about Max Value you are looking at the CGC Services & Fees listings

since TWD issue 1 is not pre 1975 you can eliminate the Economy tier 

Modern has a max value per item of $400

Standard has a max value per item of $1000

Express has a max value per item of $3000

this I believe is where you have to do some legwork and determine what you think the grade of your book might be and based on the current value of that book in such grade what tier it would best fit under

you can use the Hey Buddy Can You Spare A Grade section of the board to get some feedback as to what others might think your book would grade at (pictures will be key, front/back covers and interiors) 

https://www.cgccomics.com/boards/forum/42-hey-buddy-can-you-spare-a-grade/

and from there you can use tools like ebay completed sales (amongst others) to see where your book may be valued if you are unsure 

you will also be asked for declared value when you actually get to filling out the submission form - this would again be what you value the book to be at for insurance purposes in case something were to happen to the book and a claim needed to be filed

ps. slabbed is the typical term used as opposed to cased :wink:

Edited by StillOnly25Cents

9 minutes ago, Buzz Cola said:

It's easy. If the Mail or CGC ruins your book, how much do you want to receive in compensation? That's your value.