• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

What Has Happened to this Hobby?
5 5

90 posts in this topic

I don't post much here.  And I don't come here to read much either, so pardon me if this has been discussed at length before (did not see any recent threads about it).  I've been collecting OA for close to 20 years now.  Prices have always climbed, and there have always been folks along the way who have said "this is it" - "prices are too high" - "this can't continue".  I've always disagreed with that thinking.  One of the factors in the past that had pushed prices up was "trading up" - you could make a nice profit on something you bought long ago, and then use that money to buy something "bigger and better."  I've done that countless times myself as I'm sure many others here have done.  But recently, the market has me scratching my head. In all my years (and I know some have been at it even longer), I've never seen anything like today's market.  Prices aren't just high - they're insane (just saw the first round of Heritage close today!).  I did see this comment in my search here earlier, and it mirrored what I was thinking after looking at the HA results today:

"There is no doubt we are now competing with wealthy individuals who are not traditional OA fans, but have been professionally advised to buy OA; this is skewing higher end prices accordingly while also causing a trickle-down boost to lower tier art prices. You're not just competing with other Carillo fans now -- you're competing with folks who would normally spend $5K on a John Buscema Avengers or DC Kirby page, but are finding prices moving too high so they are snapping up decent art "bargains" (like that $2,800 page)."  (comment by Race)