• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

PGM NYX #3 1st appearance Laura Kinney
2 2

7 posts in this topic

Appreciate some assistance on the possible grading for this comic.  This is my first post to the forum as I just discovered it after finding this comic was an interesting one and doing some net searches.  I picked up a stack of more recent comics (200o to 2010) for reading but was surprised when checking out what we had gotten.  I am new to grading, so any feedback is greatly appreciated.

To me the main flaw is on the bottom left corner by the bar code, and a couple of small dents.  There are 3 pictures of the corner, as from the side it looks worse than from the top, and one is from the back where it is not to bad.  In the last picture I circled the dents.   Otherwise it looks pretty good to my untrained eye. 

Hope I got the guidelines correct, many thanks.

a.jpg

b.jpg

c.jpg

d.jpg

e.jpg

f.jpg

g.jpg

h.jpg

i.jpg

Edited by Upallnight

Presumably if you bought a stack for reading, you didn't pay market price for this book. You are quite lucky.

I believe you've accurately described the defects. I don't see anything additional that's concerning. If you're new to grading, you may be also new to cleaning and pressing (C&P). With a book like this, it is worth getting it graded for preservation and reselling if that ever comes up. I believe a C&Per can take most of those dents out. It's a little hard to see if there is (or how much) color breaking around them b/c of the light color. The bottom one I'm pretty sure doesn't. A C&Per would also make the corner look a little cleaner, but you can't fix the blunting. I believe you are looking at a 9.0 as is, and possibly a 9.4 if pressed. You're probably looking at a $600-800 book if C&Ped and graded. Not too shabby.