• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Marvel Spotlight Five Nightmare
2 2

17 posts in this topic

This is a bit of a long story, so strap in. I'm going to try and only give facts, here, not supposition, but there are some real missing pieces to the story where supposition is all I have.

I've been pressing now for almost five years. I decided to "go pro" and hang out a shingle with my local comic shop, offering press and submission services to their customers.

My first customer from the LCS wants me to press and submit his Marvel Spotlight 5, the first appearance of Johnny Blaze Ghost Rider and possibly a very high grade copy. When I see it, I tell him it's got a shot at 9.0, which for a book with an all black border like that and a book fifty years old is no small thing.
I press it and it looks great. Easily an 8.5 and a shot at 9.0. We submit it under the walkthrough tier and overpay a little for the service based on the condition of the book.
CGC Grades it at 8.5 and returns it.

When it arrives in my hands, the bottom spine corner of the slab is completely broken. There is no damage to the shipping box whatsoever. Supposition time, but it SEEMS like because there is no damage to the box, someone at CGC dropped or was careless with it enough to break the slab, THEN SHIPPED IT ANYWAY.