• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Any suggestions on how to process FedEx lost/damaged shipment going to CGC?
1 1

7 posts in this topic

Hi there. Back in February I submitted my copy of Venom Lethal Protector Gold for grading. While I am relatively new to grading, I am highly confident this was a flawless copy and would have garnered a 9.8 (yes, I know, we're all confident about that most times). I insured the shipment with FedEx and they subsequently damaged and destroyed the contents. Yes, FedEx destroyed the contents - they said the box was damaged beyond repair and they destroyed it. I had this double boxed and wrapped, so it had to have been run over or something, who knows. I submitted my claim to FedEx and they are denying it, saying I need to show proof of purchase for the claim value. I explained that this was a comic book bought in 1993 and the appreciate in value over time, I cannot possibly provide any proof of purchase. I provided data from GPA and COVRPRICE showing sales and trends, as well as a few images from eBay all in hopes of indicating the FMV for this book and why I insured it. They are still denying the claim saying that I have to provide a professional appraised value of contents with proof before sending. I've never heard of this before, and that would suggest that all shipments to CGC would not be covered without this proof of purchase or the appraisal documents - which is absurd. By chance does anyone have any feedback now on how I can refute this with FedEx and get my claim money? Thanks very much. 

Try calling them, assuming you're doing everything online.  

I know this doesn't help but for next time....