• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

How can you tell if a slab has been opened

18 posts in this topic

Sorry if this is a dumb question but I am a newbie. I bought my first CGC comic a few month back on ebay a 9.8 Wolverine #1 Limited Series, I bought 1 or two other books since since then and I recently got some books graded at the Wizard World Convention in Chicago. I was looking at my newly graded book and compared them to the ones I had bought on EBAY. I noticed a few things about the book I bought a few months back.

1. There is no top label

2. The slab seems a little looser then the ones on the books I just got graded

3. The bottom of the slab looks possbily cracked toward the right corner, not sure if it cracked but it definetly looks different from the rest.

My question is are you definitely able to tell if a slab was opened and then a different comic was inserted in its place? Are the slabs resealable once they are opened?

Thanks in advance.

Jeff

The top label, especially on some of the older slabs, peel off quite easily. I wouldn't worry about that missing. If you take a close look at the edges, you should be able to determine where the posts are. If at those posts, there is white marks in the clear plastic, the posts most likely have been broken.

Does the book look like a 9.8 to you? If you can post some pictures of the slab, it would help.

What kind of books are you talking about here?

If these are generic books, then it's probably nothing to worry about, but if it's key or valuable issues, then it sounds very, very fishy.