• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Babies and Collectibles

15 posts in this topic

My wife and I will be welcoming our first child in January of next year.

I wonder how those with children as well as high grade collectibles ensure that their

curious offspring don't unwittingly damage cherished items. I have limited space in

my home, and currently have most of my stuff in one room. Once my son is old

enough to be mobile, I would prefer to just keep the room locked rather than having

to worry about childproofing it as well as the safety of the items. But my wife seems to

dislike this idea.

I just wonder how others handle this. I'm a complete novice when it comes to kids, am I out of line with these worries?

I wonder how those with children as well as high grade collectibles ensure that their

curious offspring don't unwittingly damage cherished items. I have limited space in

enough to be mobile, I would prefer to just keep the room locked rather than having

to worry about childproofing it as well as the safety of the items. But my wife seems to

dislike this idea.

I just wonder how others handle this. I'm a complete novice when it comes to kids, am I out of line with these worries?

hi.gif and Congrats on your first child!

I have an 8 month-old daughter at home, and currently have all of my collectibles in one room, which will be off limits when my daughter is able to walk....and my wife absolutely supports this idea. Any other rare/valuable collectible items I might have elsewhere in the house are all kept in very high places, so that might be an option for you as well. thumbsup2.gif

I hope this helps at least a little 893crossfingers-thumb.gif