• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

GoldenAge of ComicBook Collecting?

18 posts in this topic

This may or may not have been posted before, but would you agree that what all of us comic collectors are witnessing is the pinnacle of the hobbie.With the 1) internet. 2) professionally graded comics. 3) Entertainment companys marketing of comics. 4) online auctions.Would you concur......... 893scratchchin-thumb.gif

Sure, why not. I've been collecting since the early 1960's and the accessability of comics has simply never been greater. Also, the information about comics history, creators, cover scans, etc., has never been as easy to acquire as it is today. Enjoy . . . smile.gif

This may or may not have been posted before, but would you agree that what all of us comic collectors are witnessing is the pinnacle of the hobbie.With the 1) internet. 2) professionally graded comics. 3) Entertainment companys marketing of comics. 4) online auctions.Would you concur......... 893scratchchin-thumb.gif
thumbsup2.gif893applaud-thumb.gifhi.gifpopcorn.gif

Actually I have to dissent here. It may be the pinnacle of the hobby for now - but I was using computers many years before the internet existed (started computing in 1979) and, yes, the internet was/is an amazing thing. But I have to wonder what is next in store. The internet is still in its infancy: awkward and difficult to control.

I would say we are reaching either the "current pinnacle" or a "whisper of what is to come". But 10 or 20 years from now? 30, 40, 50, 100 years from now? The year 12,417? Who knows what will be in the offing.

But I DO agree that we have not had it better than now! thumbsup2.gif