• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Is pressing detectable 100% of the time? 50% of the time?

250 posts in this topic

...as a piggy back to the Matt Nelson Kudo's thread, this question has come up repeatedly with no clear answer.

How about if this is discussed here with no talks of right or wrong / disclosure / greed......just the science / equipment needed to detect pressing. Well.....I am no scientist, so I look to you guys for input :popcorn:

I think pressing is detectable if done poorly or done on a poor pressing candidate.

If done properly on a book that is considered a good specimen it is not ever going to be detectable.

Let's say 50% are done properly and 50% are not.

Now take an accuracy detection rate of 90% on 50% of the books that are poor press jobs and you still only have a 45% accuracy at best. Heck take 100% detection capability and you are still only at 50%.

Now take that 50% accuracy and throw in to the mix the fact that you don't know which are pressed to start with. You have less than 50% accuracy in detecting a pressed book...and that is a best case scenario.

It's not enough accuracy to run a business on, that's for sure.

R.

I think pressing is detectable if done poorly or done on a poor pressing candidate.

If done properly on a book that is considered a good specimen it is not ever going to be detectable.

Now take an accuracy detection rate of 90% on 50% of the books that are poor press jobs and you still only have a 45% accuracy at best. Heck take 100% detection capability and you are still only at 50%.