• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Getting started

18 posts in this topic

Alright guys....right up front. I'm a newbie to this, so instead of asking a lot of questions that's going to take up a lot of your time to answer, can you point me to links with those answers maybe here on the forum somewhere.

I was a collector in my younger days (36 now), but then I got away from it for a whle. I'm very interested in the CGC thing both as collector and investor.

Is there a link that gives advice on how to get started on using CGC as a way to enjoy the hobby again?

Mainly, these things.

How do you guys evaluate your books before determining whether to send them for grading or not? Most likely it's based on past experience with CGC, but if you're starting from scratch are you just destined to screw it up initially before you figure out which books are worth getting graded and which are not? Or is there a way to look at your "raw" books and say "Yeah, i can get a 9.8 on that." Or "Nope...this is a 9.0. Not worth it".

Anyway, if there's a link you can point me to that will answer a lot of these beginner questions, I'd appreciate you posting it for me. I've looked over the forums and didn't see anything addressing this kind of thing, but I'm sure I could have missed it. Definitely would like to know recommendations for getting started.

And I'm curious. Why did you guys getting into the CGC business? Is it a combination of collecting and profiting? I'm sure both are part of the equation.

Sorry to take up your time. Feel free to trash the newbie, but I'm very interested in what and how you guys do your hobby via CGC.

Gracias

First of all, welcome to the boards. :foryou:

To learn how to grade, go here.