• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Manufactured Gold

2,576 posts in this topic

In an effort to provide useful information and hopefully add, on my part, some semblance of meaningful input, I'd like to present a few examples of books I've catalogued as appearing to have some form of treatment applied to enhance their appearance and monetary value.

In most cases, the treatments that I have been able to ascertain center on aesthetic repair. Whether it is in some form of cleaning, pressing, or combination of the two, it is my belief they were applied with the intent of returning the book to that of its original condition.

That said, I would like to state that I am by no means an expert in the area of restoration detection. Nor am I an expert in restoration treatment techniques and the procedures used therein. I am as much a novice in this area as I am a poster on these boards. So if there is error on my part, or there is opportunity to provide additional educational insight as to something for which I've missed, I would like nothing more than for those with experience to impart their knowledge for the benefit of all.

Prior to posting an example, I will make an effort to determine if it has seen previous board discussion. If after posting it is noticed that the book in question has indeed been aired earlier, please let me know and I'll delete it. Thx!

Planet Comics #38 (nee Crowley Copy)

In a matter of five months, this 9.2 designated Crowley Copy was purchased, treated, recertified as an un-designated 9.6, and then resold at auction for a positive gain.