• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Incredible Hulk #4 w/ Kirby and Lee sigs - advice?

18 posts in this topic

I'm a noob to the area, but wanted to know if there is a service for documenting/verifying signatures that are unwitnessed. I know it won't qualify for the CGC SS, but I thought it is unique for having both sigs. looks like signed on different occasions.

if there's a thread that'll answer this for me, please point me in the direction. (thumbs u

thanks!

Dscf6201.jpg

Dscf6200.jpg

PSA and James Spence Authenticators. I don't know how much either one of them does in the realm of comic industry autographs but both do celebrity and sports figures signature authentication. James Spence (also known as JSA) will typically give a COA, PSA typically slabs stuff but I don't know if they have a container for comics, can't recall ever seeing one. These two are what Heritage auctions typically use (or requests) for most of its authentication before it puts something up as an authentic signature.

I would REALLY LOVE to see CGC take on a similar role in the comic industry. I don't know maybe an orange label, signifying the signature had been compared to a file image known to be authentic of the person. It would be more money for them (an extra fee for verification on top of the grading of the book) and avoid the dreaded green label. I have a long box full of comics I have had autographed by artists over the years before CGC existed, and at least one I know is no longer with us that I believe may have passed away before CGC SS began so the only way I'm going to have his signature CGC'd currently is a green label (I think).