• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Green Lantern... a complete noob question.

16 posts in this topic

The other day I was on eBay looking at some CGC issues of Showcase 22 and Green Lantern #76.

I understand that Overstreet is simply a guide but what's up with the huge price increases?!

Is Overstreet really that out of touch with current trends and/or CGC graded books?

The other day I was on eBay looking at some CGC issues of Showcase 22 and Green Lantern #76.

I understand that Overstreet is simply a guide but what's up with the huge price increases?!

Is Overstreet really that out of touch with current trends and/or CGC graded books?

yes, period.

Overstreet does not price slabbed books. All prices are for regular back issues. That's why they changed the top grade to 9.2 and started their own magazine for slabbed comics (didn't last very long).

Comicspriceguide.com is actually fine if you're looking for what amounts to a free version of the OSPG as their pricing structure (in my experience) doesn't really seem to be any different. Frankly, I'd probably subscribe to them as I like their cataloging system only I can't see paying each month for the service when I really only look at my database 1-2x per month (so Excel wins).

Whether they're pricing is worth much in reference to slabbed books? Well, you want GPA Comic Analysis for that.