• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

An English Collector in New York

25 posts in this topic

I've just returned from my first ever visit to the USA - my wife, mistress and I visited your capital city, New York, over Easter.

As an award-winning travel writer by trade (not really) I thought I'd entertain you with my comic-related observations...

but first some general questions....

1. Are New Yorkers representative of Americans everywhere?

2. Why does everyone in the service industry say "You're Welcome!" like they're actually telling you to "f*** off and die" ?

3. What is it with this obsession with tips and taxes? Everyone is so cash obsessed! By the end of the week I was fearful to even wipe my arse in case the hotel was charging for bog roll by the sheet!

4. Haven't you ever heard of pedestrianisation? What's the point of having roads in Manhattan?

5. Why is it every time you ask for any item from the menu at your 'diners' the waitress repeats it back in a totally disbelieving / sarcastic voice like you've asked for a bowl of steaming dog mess.

Example:

"Hello, can I have a round of toast please"

"Toast!!!!???"

"Erm, yes, toast"

"You want toast!?"

"Yes, toast."

"You say Toast!!!"

etc etc etc ad infinitum

6. Why oh why oh why oh why - does no-one drink TEA!!!!

Comics...

I went to NY with high expectations of seeing and buying some of the best comics in the world. This expectation was not met! While the wife went off to add to her shoe collection, I tried to visit every comic shop on the island...

50% of them were either non-existent, closed, or somewhat ironically, now shoe-shops!