• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Amazing Adult Fantasy 14 Undervalued and Underappreciated?

15 posts in this topic

I'm still a comic newb and I just learned this.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Amazing_Fantasy

Issue #14 (July 1962) included a story entitled "The Man In The Sky",[2] in which a boy discovers he has unusual powers, then finds himself hated and hounded as a result. He is contacted telepathically by a man who tells him there are more like him, and who teleports the boy to his colony of mutants. The image of the man's face is identical to that of Professor Xavier as it would appear in The X-Men #1 (Sept. 1963). Lee said in 2010 he had a continuing series in mind when he wrote the story.[4]

To me this is huge. I've always considered X-Men 1 to be one of the most important comics for its role in shaping the Marvel universe. But it appears this short story inside AF 14 was the drawing board for it all!

Checking GPA it appears certified copies rarely hit the market and they are super cheap.

Grossly overlooked or am I missing something?

I learned about this when I was buying up silver age pre-hero monsters a few years back. I think it's kinda like the other pre-hero prototypes (Magneto, Hulk, etc). It's more like a cool bit of information, but I don't think it should make it significantly more valuable, since the rest of the X-men idea really wasn't there yet.