• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Question regarding commissions

12 posts in this topic

So here's a general question: When ya'll ask for a commission, how much direction to you usually give the artist? I'm pretty new to all this. I'm all about getting some original art at NYCC, but unsure how people usually go about making such requests. Ha, probably a dumb question :P thanks for bearing with me everybody!

I usually have a rough idea, but I don't provide much "art direction. "

For Mike Grell, once I knew his rates I have him the heroes and the villain.

For Mike Netzer, we tales about a number of scenes before I ask if he had one he'd wanted to do.

For Fred Hembeck, I knew the setting and characters. Fred figured out how to make it work.

So, it varies. Advice? Talk to the artist.

Its best to give the artist alot of room to be creative. Just give him the basics. Character(s) ( if they have different costumes mention the one you want); situation fighting, something romantic etc and setting. Try not to give too much art direction.

I usually give character and one or two must have elements (Asgardian storm needs the hammer, Starman with staff/glasses, Mist with gun and baby, Electric blue Superman please) and then ask if they need anything else. I often have to run off and buy a cheap comic book for reference.

Like the others, I tend to keep it vague. Usually I limit myself to which characters I want and something open ended, like "Flash & Mirror Master fighting."