• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Action Comics 1....it seems she will always be out of reach

82 posts in this topic

When I first started collecting golden age as a college student, I always wanted an Action 1 (like everyone else). But it was simply out of reach. I remember seeing low grade copies in the $30-$50k range but could do nothing but admire.

Today when my budget is bigger, the prices of Action 1 have also shot up with even restored examples bringing 6 digits. So for me, it seems the book will always be out of reach. Kind of sad.

Ankur :)

I first started collecting in the 1980s with paper route money. With my first katy Keene Overstreet guide in 1984 I checked the highest priced comic and it was Action 1 for $14,000.

That was out of reach then and it has been ever since.

I used think that about most of the keys in my collection.

I know that we are talking the key of all keys here but you have still gotta have hope man. :wishluck:

I respect your optimism, but I've got no illusions on this one. If I could afford an Action 1, which I can't, I still wouldn't spend the required amount of money on the book. It's outpriced itself, as far as I'm concerned.

I used think that about most of the keys in my collection.

I know that we are talking the key of all keys here but you have still gotta have hope man. :wishluck:

I respect your optimism, but I've got no illusions on this one. If I could afford an Action 1, which I can't, I still wouldn't spend the required amount of money on the book. It's outpriced itself, as far as I'm concerned.

I agree with you 99.9999999999999999999999999999999999999999999%

but the difference is a lottery win, a crazy garage sale find or long lost inheritance.