• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

How is this possible?

16 posts in this topic

I used to be a professional gold and silver age comic book dealer, setting up at conventions in the northeast throughout the 1990s, and in my time I was considered a very strict grader. When CGC first came into existence I sent them about 50 comics and found that usually I was right on the money but in some instances they seemed even too strict for my standards. I took a hiatus from comics for the last 12 years or so and am just now getting back into the market. When I look at some graded books now, it seems like grading standards from CGC have become much less stringent than when I first sent stuff in 13-14 years ago. For example, I was just looking at comiclink's auctions and saw this item (image included below). How can this comic be a VG+ 4.5 with the huge piece out of the cover????? Has CGC gotten more lenient as time has gone by? Is there something about the way they determine a grade that allows such a huge issue to still be above G or G/VG? I would have graded this comic a G/VG at best with that huge piece out. Thoughts?

RAD3225E2012102_14113.jpg

That is an old label book, which was graded some time ago. If you are using this as a recent example of how CGC's grading standards have changed, it is not a great candidate.

At what number did they switch over to the new label because that is a pretty high number and I've got SS's lower than that number. I agree it does not deserve a 4.5, but the rest of the book from the picture looks great. Maybe Daniel sneaked in and graded this issue.