• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Opinion on this comic deal please!

9 posts in this topic

This deal goes back almost 16 months. I was dealing with a large comic dealer and just did a 2 deals for 15k. i had another deal pending with the same dealer for 13k. I gave him 4k and told him i would pay him over the next couple of months. Plus we were working on a deal for 1 book for over 50k. When i first bought the other books I sent them into CGC and all of them came back a grade lower. I am not a professional comic grader I do the best that I can but I was relying more on the so called professional for their accuracy with grading. Well all of the money i spent was now worth alot less than it was when i first bought the books. At first i was pissed off and didnt want to finish the new deal with this comic dealer so I held off and figured i would get to it but alot of things came up at work and at home and I forgot all about it. The dealer tried to call me for a couple of months and said if I didnt get back to him he would either send me back 1200.00 of the 4k I sent him or he would send me back my 4k when he sold all of the books we had agreed on. Over a year passes and I finally spoke to the comic dealer the other day and he is telling me he tried for months to get in touch with me and that for his time I should pay him and that I lost him potential sales for that period. He told me that he doesnt have any of the books anymore or at least he thinks he doesnt. What do you guys think? What is the right approach for me. I was being charged specific grade prices and none of them came back the grade they were graded. if I invested 3500 in a book because it was a 9.2 it came back a 9.0 and now it is cut in half.