• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Why Golden Age Collecting is Fun

55 posts in this topic

I'm relatively new to the golden age scene. I only started actively picking up books a couple years ago. Even then I was collecting readers not graded books.

Soon I was able to pickup the Gerber Photo Journal Guide to Comics and narrow my focus down to a few very specific titles I liked. Some I will never be able to afford and some I can pick up for pennies on the dollar.

Next I learned about the value of CGC'ed comics vice the mass of readers I had previously been buying. Learning the true rarity of books in grade and using that info to help me focus down even further.

Finally I learned about Pedigrees and the story behind them. How sometimes the story of the pages is as cool as the story on the pages. I truly gained a love for these stories.

So taking all of that information and deciding to pick 1 title I enjoyed that was

A:) in my budget range

B:) I could find reader copies and graded copies of. even pedigree books !

C:) was semi difficult but not completely impossible to complete

So as a lot of folks know I chose to specialize in Don Winslow books, and man has it been fun so far.

When my younger self was primarily collecting X-Men books it was fun to see an X-men 94, GSX 1, or ever the occasional X-men 1. But go on e-bay right now and you can find 50 of those issues at any given time. Not so with most golden age books. With GA books if you want it you have to hunt for it, search and hope. Even if you find it, does it meat your grade? Is it good enough to even be considered for your reader copy?