• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Relative about to give me his collection

36 posts in this topic

I've been collecting comics for about 40 years or so...my brother quit collecting in the mid 1980's, but kept all of his books. Over Christmas break, he said if I want his books, they're mine...I just need to drive a couple hours south to pick them up.

I'm struggling on how to handle this...I want some of the books to add to my collection, and others I don't care to keep. I want to pay him something for the books, especially for the ones I would likely just sell off anyway...but how to come to a price that #1) He'll accept, and #2) that won't break the bank!

He has full runs of Iron Man, Incredible Hulk (after 102), Luke Cage, Defenders, most of the Tales of Suspense that had Iron Man stories (NOT #39), and a few miscellaneous titles....up until about 1985. He kept his books in generally nice shape.

I'm leaning toward telling him which books I want to keep, and selling the rest. I'd provide him the funds of the sold books directly, and then I thought I would come up with a price for the books I'll keep.

Anyone ever run into a similar situation? Relatives don't like to take money, and I don't like to take valuable items for free. I really don't want to go through and price the books individually...would take quite a bit of time to determine condition and value. 4 long boxes, and at least one short box.

Thanks for any thoughts!

I think there are two options you can take, one easy and one time consuming.

1) pay him a "per box price" If they're SA/BA, maybe $100 per long box and $50 for the short.

2) sell off the ones you don't want and split the proceeds 50/50 or 60/40 (him getting 60%)