• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Recent static_inc auctions- opinions?

12 posts in this topic

I noticed several ebay auctions today by a dealer static_inc

http://cgi6.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?Mf...t=3&completed=1

Several lots of low grade GA. A lot of minor key books (maybe some keys, I'm not a GA expert) that are probably on many lists. But the uncertaintly of the true grade (most lots are described as "many books G to VG, but some fair to poor") of individual books made me shy away. Although I'm willing to pay full graded book price for certain low grade books (e.g. certain Avons, Fiction House, or Fox) IF I am confident of the grade, I find some of the final bids in these auctions a little high. Am I correct- is this optimistic/gambling bidding- or do people know what they're doing here?

I bid on a few of static_inc's auctions in the past but I never won any of them. I've mostly set low-ball bids in hopes of getting lucky, but it's yet to work. I'm hard-pressed to bid "with intent" on any book that doesn't have large front and back scans and a really complete description.

Warning!

Static_Inc is selling STOLEN comics on Ebay!!!!!

A box load of golden age books were stolen from a dealer at the last Big Apple convention. All of these books showed up on EBAY the next week by Static_Inc. Most have been recovered by the owner, working with the NY and DE police.

It also appears that another group of comics sold by Static_Inc last November were stolen from another dealer at the November Big Apple National convention.

Hi folks-