• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Advice on buying a collection privately please.

87 posts in this topic

Hello everyone, I'm fairly new to the world of comics, and brand new here!

In the 6 months or so I've been collecting I've learned quite a lot about this fine hobby and am enjoying it thoroughly, but I've made lots of mistakes along the way, most often, I think, paying too much money!

Tomorrow I hope will be sweet reward for all the hours I've put into trawling ebay looking for great deals on sweet comics!. I've found a guy who lives 80 miles away who says, he has found an 'attic find'! So I messaged him and have discovered it's likely a large collection of silver age books.

We've agreed a price on the one and only book he had listed and I will be going to meet him to buy tomorrow and I've told him I'm very interested in buying more.

It looks to be in excellent condition and is a big key #1 but the photos were kinda blurry and now I'm having doubts about our agreed price.

What would you do? How do you approach it? I don't have a huge amount of spare cash at the moment, enough to cover the book I'm going for and a little more to play with if he has more key books. I'm really excited to see them all.

How do you play it? My knowledge of comics is limited and I'd hate to come away leaving key books behind. There's no way I can buy them all, no way at all, I just don't have the money, I'm poor! I'd struggle to even pick out the keys I think, but at the same time I do feel quite confident tomorrow will be a good day!

This book is big enough for me, and one of my favorite characters, it's worth the 160 mile round trip alone, it practically kills my budget though.