• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Current sized bags and boards. So tight a fit the board is bowed

18 posts in this topic

Hi everyone,

I am new to using the current sized bags and boards. I have always used silver aged bags and boards for my books, mostly for the consistency in size in my boxes but I admit I also like the extra space all around the book to help protect it.

My partner in comic buying prefers the current sized bags and boards for the modern books as he likes how they look ( the comic goes right to the edge of the board in the bag ) so I decided to buy a bunch to bag and board several hundred new books over the next few days.

I am finding the boards are often so tight a fit into the bag that the backing board has a slight bow to it. Getting a book into this is a challenge and I am hesitant to use them when they are like this.

One board doesn't fit into one bag but will fit the next one from the very same package of bags.

The consistency is awful.

I have never experienced this using silver age bags/boards in years of use.

My questions:

1. Do I just have a bad batch of several hundred bags / or boards or are current sized bags and boards always this awful?

2. Why does anyone use these current sizes? In my opinion the awful inconsistent fit is just a complete hassle and a chore.

One of the big problems with comic supplies is large variances in quality between different manufacturers. Also, there are quite often inconsistencies within a product line or even a package.

I don't like or use current sized products, they're too tight... even if all the bags and boards fit together.