• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

100 books to submit to CGC~Would you pre-screen first? NOOB Here

36 posts in this topic

I have a little over 100 comic books to grade with CGC.  I was going to submit all 100 and have them all slabbed but I noticed the pre-screen option.  I have (3) questions:

1. Do you get charged the $5 Pre-screen fee plus the grading fee if the book passes or is a straight $18 for a modern book?

2. Because of the large QTY (to me at least) would you pre-screen first prior to slabbing?

3. Do you get grader notes or any notion on why the book does not meet your min grade?

I'm new to grading so any help or guidance would be great.

Thanks

1 minute ago, MS Cards & Comics said:

I have a little over 100 comic books to grade with CGC.  I was going to submit all 100 and have them all slabbed but I noticed the pre-screen option.  I have (3) questions:

1. Do you get charged the $5 Pre-screen fee plus the grading fee if the book passes or is a straight $18 for a modern book?

They charge $5 if it doesn't pass the prescreening grade and $18 if it passes and the book gets slabbed.

2. Because of the large QTY (to me at least) would you pre-screen first prior to slabbing?

Yes - definitely if you want only 9.8s (or 9.6/9.8s)

3. Do you get grader notes or any notion on why the book does not meet your min grade?

No - you just get the book back.

Thanks