• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Value of Restored GA Books

34 posts in this topic

I'm wondering what everyone's opinion is on slight vs. extensive restoration on HG GA books. For instance, I recently sent in a beautiful copy of Zago #2 to CGC, and it graded out as a 9.2 with slight restoration. The label stated "Very small amount of color touch on cover". Would most GA collectors consider the small amount of restoration on this book, or would they just classify it as restored period.

Since I'm fairly new to GA collecting, I'm hoping that HG restored books are treated a little more fairly than their SA counterparts, since they're much scarcer.

Anyway, what percentage of a non-restored GA book would you be willing to pay for a book with slight, moderate or extensive restoration?

Of course that all depends on if you're selling or buying. Page quality and scarcity of the book. To me, if some kid 30 years ago took a magic marker and put a red dot on a scuff on the spine of a book, that's not resoration, it's a defect yes, but not resto.This issue is so confused and subject to intense manipulation.

Obviously it depends on the scarcity of the book, but if it is something like very small color touch, I don't knock off more than 20-25% when considering a purchase. If the resto is extensive to the point where we are talking a Frankenbook, then the deduction will be much much more. Small amounts of resto don't bother me in the least. I just don't like the extensive jobs. At that point I would rather have the book in its original state.