• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

1 1

12 posts in this topic

Hello, I'm fairly new to getting books graded and I know that there are 10.0 grades and was just wondering if at all possible if anyone knows how to get a book graded for 10.0? It may not even be possible but I thought I could throw the question out there.

On 1/25/2021 at 9:28 AM, Nick_j said:

Hello, I'm fairly new to getting books graded and I know that there are 10.0 grades and was just wondering if at all possible if anyone knows how to get a book graded for 10.0? It may not even be possible but I thought I could throw the question out there.

Yes, it's possible. CGC offers a service just for that. You send 25 books or more and ask to check which of those books they would give a 10. If they find one, they will grade it and give you 10. The ones that wont get a 10 are sent back to you ungraded.

5 hours ago, William-James88 said:

Yes, it's possible. CGC offers a service just for that. You send 25 books or more and ask to check which of those books they would give a 10. If they find one, they will grade it and give you 10. The ones that wont get a 10 are sent back to you ungraded.

You can only prescreen up to a 9.8

You can get 10's on specially selected new releases.  Thousands of comics are screened to yield a few 10's and slightly more 9.9's.  These offerings are sometimes available for "special" issues as they come out, like maybe a highly anticipated #1 issue.  They're not cheap, but one way to get a 10. 

Or you are out on the secondary market, like eBay.  And have a dump truck full of money on hand.