• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Book Grading: Major Defect's effect on otherwise VF+ Book?
1 1

10 posts in this topic

Hi All

I am trying to improve my grading skills.  I'm pretty new at this.  If a book grades at VF+ in all categories but has a major defect such as a 1 inch split spine, how does that impact the overall grade?  Are the categories averaged out?  What is the methodology for approaching a book like this?  I seem to see it a lot and could use some great advice.

Thanks all

Alec

I think every situation is a little different and it's difficult to answer without pictures and specifics. 

I learned allot by posting books in the "spare a grade" section and grading other people's books. It's a great way to see a variety of defects and how experienced collectors evaluate the grades. 

3 hours ago, Elroy Jetson said:

Hi All

I am trying to improve my grading skills.  I'm pretty new at this.  If a book grades at VF+ in all categories but has a major defect such as a 1 inch split spine, how does that impact the overall grade?  Are the categories averaged out? 

If your goal is to sell it loose, then no the defect does not average out. The correct grade would be whichever grade allows your worse defect, which would be a 1 inch spine split. In this case it's a 4.0, so that's the grade of your comic. You can read the generally accepted grading guidelines here.

https://comics.ha.com/tutorial/comics-grading.s?show=comicdefinitions

5 hours ago, Elroy Jetson said:

Hi All