• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Dont buy more book before properly store the ones you have
1 1

18 posts in this topic

I recently invested in a great quantity of books and contrary to what i thinked (because i know well the seller) he said me after sended, he dont bags and boards the books and i not predicted that. Now i realize is probably a more reasonable option to take rest into my purchases of comics to spend some money to maintain the ones i already have. I think on a long duration is really better to now invest a little bit to keep my books safe for life. Actually the books will be going in bags by set of 12 i think i cannot leave them into it. What did you think of that?

Edited by BA773

I've been collecting for 30 years.  I used standard polypropylene bags and boards because they were cheap but now find myself in a situation where I am overdue for re-bagging those early collected issues.  I could either buy more polypropylene bags because they're cheap and have to re-bag again in 20-30 years, or I could buy Mylar and be done with it for the rest of my life.

Moral of the story is, if I had to go back and do things all over again, I would have just spend the extra money upfront to bag in proper mylar/fullback and never have to think about re-bagging again.  It'll cost you more upfront, but will be cheaper in the long run.

Mylar bags with acid-buffering boards like the fullbacks also give superior long-term preservation.

Polybags and grouping multiple comics into single bags are fine for the lower value books in your collection.  But the more valuable ones (for me, it was anything with an approximate value of $20 or over) deserve mylar and fullbacks.

Edited by namisgr