• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Tampered CGC Slab from ebay? Opinions...photos included
2 2

9 posts in this topic

Hello all, I just received this slab from an ebay purchase and I noticed immediately a few things (see photos).

Are these signs that this CGC slab has been tampered with? I reached out to the seller, and he was telling he received a few from CGC like this.

The one thing that drew my attention was the upper right corner with a slight bulge so when I run my finger across the top it has a slight opening (not completely open where there's air, but there's unevenness). 

I'm new to comics, but very new to CGC slab purchasing. Any feedback would be appreciated.

25.png

24.png

23.png

22.png

21.png

Edited by thecomicsdude
Clarification for the description

On 9/19/2023 at 4:15 AM, Cman429 said:

Just search the CGC registry for your certification number (scan the bar code on the label). If it comes up Secret Wars 1 9.4, you have your answer. 

That just tells you that such a book existed at the time it was graded. It doesn't prove that the book in the slab today is the one that there at that time. Theoretically it could have been tampered with and swapped out. So only a first step, at best.

Not saying that happened here, 99.99% chance it's legit. There is no monetary incentive to mess with this particular book.

Just saying that looking up the number has little to do with it, and should give the owner limited comfort. There is much more to it than that.

Thanks @Lightning55 - I was thinking the same thing. I did look it up and it does exist.

Gotcha, so you can't tamper with the slab, once you open it the whole thing breaks? Is that how I understood your statement? Does this devalue the CGC grading or make it questionable?

Edited by thecomicsdude