• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Ebay Scam artist at work

7 posts in this topic

hello all...

I had bid on some of ronm3's high grade GA bats he had on ebay last week, and was unfortunately outbid on them...well, today, I got what appears to be a legit "second chance offer" from the "seller" (which of course, was not ron)....I emailed ron to confirm, and he let me know it was a scam...if any of you all get an email from a "John" at email gregallen12@gmail.com, offering books, be warned now...the email does appear to come over ebay servers, which was puzzling (but I am not that technically savy, so maybe it just "looked" legit to me)...

thanks

rick

Thanks for the info. I get a lot of those. You should forward it to spoof@ebay.com so they can take action.

I just got offered a second chance x-men #9 9.6! at my tracker bid of $312.00!!!

How lame do these guys get. But admittedly all the same MO, all through what appears to be an ebay email address.

I suspect they know something about computer's we don't, as the reply addresses are always invariably private ones.

I just ask for fresh scan's front and back, and generally let them think they've got one on the hook. Then as the emails come, the english generally deteriates as a rule. It's always nice to wind them up a little... I think it's a small measure of retribution.

I just ask for fresh scan's front and back, and generally let them think they've got one on the hook. Then as the emails come, the english generally deteriates as a rule. It's always nice to wind them up a little... I think it's a small measure of retribution.

Here's a funny tale of scamming the scammer: