• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Tips for San Diego - Survival Guide?

30 posts in this topic

This is my first year going to the SDCC and I vaguely remember people giving their reports from last year and providing insightful words of wisdom. Can anyone please provide us first timers with some tricks of the trade/lessons learned? I understand that traffic/parking is a problem as can be getting around outside of the show. Also, any tips while you're in the show? I understand that is it massive...

I like to have a fold up hand cart to take with me it makes it easier to carry stuff around. Also a bottle of water is a good idea. I would also recommend running shoes. Don't wear anything that is binding, t-shirts and jeans or short wuold be good attire. Don't forget to bathe daily and don't wear any type of clothing that makes you look like a nerd. It is OK to be a nerd just don't look like one. Some type of small snack might be a good idea aswell. Always have silver and black sharpie available to get autographs, if that is your thing, because you never know who you might see just walking around. Bring small bills it makes things easier so ones, fives, tens, and twenties. Sleep alot at night. It is hard to do a big con on like 2 hours sleep.

If you have a preview night badge (On Wed Afternoon) : use the bathroom, get water, get in line to pick it up early and after you get it, get into the cattle lines as quickly as possible. This will effect how soon you see the inside of the exhibit hall. I suppose the same can be said about arriving on Thurs or Fri. Get in line early and be prepared to wait. Or find a dealer you know and get a badge.