• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Rant and questions

31 posts in this topic

This is my first post so be kind:)

I've been collecting comics for about 15 years now, I'm 23 and my focus is Gold and Silver books. Having been to numerous conventions I've noticed that the average age of people collecting gold and silver is a lot older than me. From my point of view it seems that people between 20-30 are only interested in collecting whats hot, and not whats beautiful and good reading. Out of all this crazy talk comes some questions, do those of you who collect gold and silver notice what I've described, or am i just crazy (don't answer that.) I'd like some input from old and young collectors. And on a more general note some of the comic book stores near me have closed and I know that the comics industry is suffering slightly and I was wondering is the collecting base for gold and silver shrinking? Are less people collecting comics in general? And one more rant item, when i step up to a booth and start talking gold and silver to someone they always give me a look like I'm going to rob them or since I'm young they can take me for all I'm worth. Even in comic stores I get followed around like they are lost puppies. That's really no way to get young people into or keep them in the hobby. I'm done. Have fun ripping me a new one.

Welcome aboard! i am about to hit 30 & have always collected gold - bronze even in 6th grade! I know a lot of collectors in their 20's and all go for older books, so i think its pretty evenly distributed. Maybe not gold so much. Mostly atom age and forward. the books are too cool not to!