• When you click on links to various merchants on this site and make a purchase, this can result in this site earning a commission. Affiliate programs and affiliations include, but are not limited to, the eBay Partner Network.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Should I make the switch to trades?

28 posts in this topic

I have been weighing this question recently and the question is, should I give up entirely buying modern comics off the rack and instead wait for the trade? I do not read that many comics -- I have my subscriptions to FF and Cap through Marvel (which is not ideal, I admit) -- so not all that much would be changing, come to think of it. I just am not able to get out to the LCS every week. The only good one is close to half an hour away. To be totally honest, I was not even able to get out often enough to keep up with Civil War last summer.

So, would it behoove me to just stop trying and wait for the trades? I suppose the only real consideration is price. For example, take Civil War. I have the first three issues. The trade goes for $25. The remaining four issues would probably run me roughly $12, give or take, meaning the trade would be more expensive. Same goes for the Front Line trades. On the plus side, I can get the trades at Borders or Barnes & Noble (woe for my LCS). Or potentially somewhere else, discounted.

In the end, I suppose it comes down to whether or not the individual comic book -- the feel of it, even the ads -- is more important than just the story. And I am just not sure.

Does your LCS have a saver program? With that, you can keep up with titles and not worry about going every week. I sometimes hit my own LCS biweekly. As long as you keep showing up, they shouldn't mind you skipping weeks.